More Bread, thanks Ed Brown

DSC_5912 (1)

DSC_5924

DSC_5947

DSC_5949

DSC_5955

DSC_5978

With flat bread accomplished (thanks to Dad and Jamie) I wanted to have a go at making risen bread, the stuff of sandwiches and toast. In Melbourne there is this amazing shop called Books for Cooks, where I would happily disappear for hours, then emerge, hungry to begin cooking something for someone. I decided it was time to buy my first bread book and was caught by the recommendation of Mollie Katzen of Edward Espe Brown’s The Tassajara Bread Book. I liked the range of yeasted and starter (sourdough) recipes and the illustrations. As much as sourdough is great, I’m not sure I’m ready to be committed to keeping the starter alive yet (they need almost daily attention!).  Anyhow, I followed the recipe for the basic Tassajara Yeasted Bread exactly, (using half plain flour and half wholemeal) using honey as my sweetener and below are the results!

I was pretty happy with them – good basic bread for sandwiches. I do want to keep trying for a slightly more moist and elastic texture … I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

