Going ‘home’?

It is tricky now, when I talk about going home. Actually, it is not really tricky, it is just that there is no longer only one ‘home’ – so questions of home are little fraught with complexity and the faintest hint of grief. Once upon a time it was easy – a simple answer to a simple question; “where do you live?”, “Oh, 30 Annangrove”. But not any more. And really, that is okay. In fact, in many ways it is more than okay, it is a very good thing.

It is a pretty blessed thing to belong in more than one place. To have people – family, friends – precious people to love you in more than one town. I am truly rich in this way.

I do fear the difficulties and disadvantages of not always being able to be present with those far away.
I do not enjoy the goodbyes that are a regular and permanent part of life.
I do know that my changing of location from here to there (and back again) remind me that life is always changing (a truth I would perhaps ignore with more success if I did not have to move).
In the thick of the coming and going it is having faith in One who does not change that steadies me.

And so, I am trying to be grateful for the changes (many of which have been very wonderful) – grateful for here, now, and thankful that (over) there they still love me very much.

To holidays at home! Enjoy these pictures taken during the April holidays and shared in anticipation of winter holidays ‘home’ too!

(or at least, they would have been in anticipation had I been a little more organised before the holidays!)

DSC_0791

DSC_0794

DSC_0795

DSC_0799

DSC_0810

DSC_0811

DSC_0813

DSC_0815

DSC_0817

DSC_0818

DSC_0820

DSC_0821

DSC_0823

DSC_0824

DSC_0825

DSC_0826

DSC_0827

DSC_0828

DSC_0831

DSC_0836

DSC_0840

2 thoughts on “Going ‘home’?

Leave a Reply

