The romance of cold pork pies

DSC_8955

DSC_8967

DSC_8962

Sometimes it takes a long time to learn something. I am a baker. You could woo me with the pretty pastels of a patisserie window any day. My husband is a savoury person. He will try anything I made (especially warm out of the oven) and loves a good chocolate chip cookie – but in his heart of hearts, it is the cheese and olives, crackers and dips that win him over every time. I may be a slow learner but I am getting there. This year, his birthday treat was my attempt at recreating Donna Hay’s cold pork pies from her Autumn Issue 8 magazine. With the help of a kind and knowledgable butcher, they worked! Here is a little taste!

Leave a Reply

